Oct 012012
Three new officers will join the Milwaukee Newspaper Guild leadership team on Monday. The local's members have elected online producer Jenn Amur as 1st vice president, in charge of contract enforcement; page designer Zeina Makky as 2nd vice president, in charge of membership and mobilizing; and business reporter Tom Content as secretary. Amur has been a board member, bargaining committee member and human rights coordinator. She succeeds former feature writer Mary-Liz Shaw, who left the paper in a buyout earlier this year. Makky has been a board member, communications chair and steward. She succeeds copy editor Karen Samelson, who was elected to an at-large board seat after a record four full terms and one partial term as our membership chair. Content is a two-term steward leader who also has served as a bargaining committee member and steward. He succeeds metro reporter Annysa Johnson, who was elected as an at-large board member after one term as secretary. Members also re-elected sportswriter Tom Silverstein, to his third term as president; copy editor John Schumacher, to his first full term as treasurer; and metro reporter Jan Uebelherr, to her sixth full non-consecutive term as an at-large board member. In other action at our annual meeting Tuesday, members:
  • Elected Silverstein and Amur as our delegates to The Newspaper Guild's 2013 international sector conference, with Makky, Content, Samelson and Uebelherr as alternates.
  • Picked Silverstein as our delegate to the 2013 international convention of our parent union, the Communications Workers of America, with Amur, Makky, Content, Samelson and Uebelherr as alternates.
  • Renewed the rebate provision that keeps our dues at 1% of our base pay.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.